Ashley S.

Undergraduate Recipient



"As you pursue your dreams of higher education, describe what changes you would like to see in the CF community. What steps would you take to initiate these changes?"


As I pursue my dreams of higher education by attending college this upcoming fall, I would like to see a change in the CF community in the new treatments being made for the patients. One change that I would love to see is for the CF community to produce different promising treatments for CF patients of different mutations that will help improve their ways of life. I understand that to further the research on these kind of life-changing treatments, the CF community will need to keep raising money. One step I plan on taking that would initiate this change would be to continue participating and organizing fundraisers. Another way in which I would love to help, is by joining the Delta Phi Epsilon sorority at the Florida International University where I plan to transfer in the future. This sorority has done an incredible job at fundraising and creating awareness for CF by organizing different events. My goal is to become an Occupational Therapist and within this job field, I also plan on easing the lives of patients with CF in some kind of way--either with a new modality or therapy that will benefit them. I believe that with these changes in mind, the CF community will be able to continue to grow and effectively reach out to as many people as possible in order to keep raising awareness to find a cure. I cannot wait to be a part of furthering my future and those with CF.

 

Ashley S.'s Artwork

Ashley S.'s Achievements

  • Shake A Leg, mentor at a summer camp for kids with disabilities, 2017
  • WOW Center, volunteered at a special education school for adults with disabilities, 2018
  • Yearbook, Senior Editor, 2014-2018
  • Choir, participated in the choir, 2014-2018
  • Swim Team, belonged to a team and competed in a few races, 2014-2017
  • Flag Football, played 4 seasons and was placed in every position at least once in my team, 2014-2017
  • Basketball, played 2 seasons and was placed in every position at least once in my team, 2016-2017
  • Soccer, played 4 seasons and was placed in every position at least once in my team, 2014-2017
  • Mission Club, participated in different events to help the community with my homeschool group including: visiting elderly homes, giving food to the homeless, giving toys to children in an orphanage, etc., 2014-2018
  • Retreat, one of the leaders in an all-girls weekend retreat for my church where I led a small group and gave a talk, 2018